Distracted

DSC_9967mr

How distracted? Well, let’s see. It’s been about a year since I’ve posted on my blog. Maybe that’s my thing, ‘The Annual Blogger’, everyone will be doing it soon. I have the best ideas! Really can’t call myself a ‘blogger’ at this point though.

I wish I could say that I’ve been busy accomplishing things, I haven’t been.  I did however manage to stick with, and complete one of my 52 week photo projects in 2015. Yeah, just one of them, it was 52 weeks of themed self-portraits. The other project, 52 weeks of SOOC  (straight out of the camera) photos was boring as hell. So when I came down with pneumonia for a few weeks I ditched that project about half way through. I don’t regret it, usually I hate giving up on things, but when you are not inspired by your own art it’s okay to call it quits. Right? Yes, I agree.

So where has my time gone? I have no idea! An entire year, gone! Just like that.

Being easily distracted by all shiny things in sight…..does not help.  I mean, I’ve started a bunch of projects. “Started” being the keyword. You know how it goes, almost any given day……..

I start to clean out my basement, half-way through realizing that I really need to see what I have in my garage,  I’ll need to make room for that stuff down there. Between the basement and the garage is the craft room. I start thinking about how I should be working on some crafts to sell on Etsy instead, haven’t done that in a while, my time would be better spent there.  I sit at my table, take out all of my supplies, ponder some ideas. The craft room is a mess however, I can’t work like that. Let me rearrange it. While I’m in there I start thinking about how I should make it a playroom for the kids too. I’ll need some stuff to organize it. A Home Depot trip is in order. I’ll hit the craft store while I’m out, it’s right next door. I’ll print coupons for it first. Sitting at the computer, check Facebook, Instagram, email. In email I see that I have a new comment on my half-finished book. I really should edit some chapters and post something new. Opens ‘Google Docs’, works on chapter.  I make a mental note of how long it’s been since I’ve done that and start thinking about how neglected the blog is. I’ll write something for that too while I have my documents open. Approximately a year later, this is what I come up with. I’m posting it damn it!

See you next year. 😀

“Type hard. Like you mean it!”

 

9 thoughts on “Distracted

  1. Oh thank you D for waking up the computer and letting us all know you’re still ok and still totally really honestly frank (Not as in the man’s name, that’s be stupid, and I don’t think of you as a Francesca either (Squirrel)).
    I also have the ‘Distraction’ bug and am slowly coming to the conclusion that we are in the majority, and the others are the ones who grew up! A quote that I often use (but have no idea where it came from) is “You can become an Adult but never grow up, Grown ups are boring, look at Accountants”. Another (just to bore you) is “I might be daft but I’m not stupid”.
    So if you get the urge to write and post more of your book, you’ll make a lot of people happy, but PLEASE don’t feel pressured the Magic doesn’t like pressure! It’s your book, and if it takes 40 Years then we’ll have to wait!

    • I like those quotes! So fitting.. 🙂 Thanks for following along by the way, also…. I did just post the next chapter over on Goodreads. Can’t believe I managed to get two things done today. I’m on a roll. lol

      • Oh wow, I better leave reading that until the weekend, it’s now 21:50 here in the UK and I’ve got work tomorrow as well as Family coming over the easter weekend and I’m about 8 days behind getting ready for them.

  2. I love you and your absolute honesty. I can almost see myself in some of your rants but then find myself chasing the “squirrel ” and forget what the hell i was even talking about. Thank you for making me laugh on days I would rather just pull the covers over my head and imagine I am 8 years old and skipping school. Oh if life were only that easy. Nobody gives you an instruction manual on how to be a grown up because I’m pretty sure there would be a chapter on how to talk yourself down off a 6 story building. So I will end my post on a positive note by saying thank you for keeping it real and showing everyone that laughinge at yourself is sometimes the best therapy that money can’t buy. And when all else fails…smile. it makes people wonder what you’re up to.😆

Be daring! Go all the way. Tell me....was it good for you?

