52 Weeks Of Photos ~2016~ Week 31

13

‘Venom’ Self-Portrait

The theme for my week 31 image was ‘Smoke’.

A few things happened this month.  I turned 42 on the 10th, and also this month marks the 10th anniversary of when I quit smoking.  Prior to that I smoked for almost 19 years, if you are good with math you’ll figure out that I started when I was 13 years old, you know…because I was cool.

I’d like to go back and kick my 13 year old ass. Now that I have a 13 year old daughter I find myself doing that thing, you know the thing, the thing that all parents do, try to save your kid from making all the same mistakes you made as an adolescent.

I’d like to think I have a great relationship with my 13 year old, we joke around a lot and have an open line of communication. No topic is off limits.

Most days when she’s leaving the house I give her a hug and add, “I love you, don’t do drugs, drink, smoke, or have sex. Have a great day!”  She rolls her eyes while laughing (in my head she’s laughing, it’s mostly eye rolls), and I giggle just hoping that what I say will stick with her.

I think I’m doing alright though. To take this photo I needed to have smoke. I asked my husband to stop at the store and get me some type of E-cig, or like the cool kids call it ‘vape’, or is it ‘vaper’? Shit, I’m so not cool anymore. My daughter was with with my husband when he went to purchase some, she was worried that this would be my gateway to smoking again.  The fact that she was so disgusted with the idea of smoking brings me some comfort.  For now I’m pretty confident she’s not interested in lighting up, chances are she feels the same way about drugs too.

I’m always preaching about how drugs, drinking, and smoking can mess you up, especially at her age. Now…as for the sex part, I have nothing bad to say about sex. Sex is amazing!!! Just not when you are 13! lol

“Type hard, like you mean it!”

5 thoughts on “52 Weeks Of Photos ~2016~ Week 31

  1. There was this little silly thing that my father did when I was 4 yrs old that I am pretty sure is why I never smoked. It was during some card party where he took me on his knee and put a lit cigarette to my mouth. I only remember that part, after that it is blank, like an edited film. Both my parents smoked and I hounded my mom to stop. It was with my father ‘s first heart attack that he ‘stopped’ buying cigarettes, he smoked my mom’s ….. When his second heart attack came around , she stopped smoking.

    I think also the second factor that I didn’t smoke was that none of my close friends did ….. Check her friends . 😉

    • It’s strange what can stick with us. I remember stealing cocaine from my father when I was about 8 or 9, not because I wanted to try it, but because I wanted him not to. A lot of my relatives have died from drugs, alcohol etc. Even though I’ve dabbled with drugs in my teens, I never wanted them to be part of my life, so saying “no” became very easy. Smoking didn’t seem so bad in comparison…..at the time. lol

Be daring! Go all the way. Tell me....was it good for you?

